Options

School Council

School Council - Statement of Purpose

The School Council, in serving as representatives of our larger community, seeks to enrich and enhance opportunities for teaching and learning that result in improved learning outcomes for students.  We strive to improve the supports available to teachers, students, and their families as we work together to better meet the needs of all our learners.

About School Council
As outlined in the Education Reform Act of 1993, the School Council is comprised of representatives from the parent body, the school staff, and the community at large.  Elections are held to ensure that all parents and staff have a full opportunity for representation.  The council has specific responsibilities that include, but are not limited to, examining the following topics:

  • Class size and impact on student achievement

  • School budget

  • School climate, safety, and discipline

  • Enhancement of parental involvement

  • Professional development

In addition, the council is charged with assisting the principal with the development of an annual School Improvement Plan that will identify areas of concern, establish explicit goals, state objectives, name persons charged with various responsibilities, and determine a timeline for measurable outcomes. In determining areas for improvement, the School Council takes guidance from the following sources:

  • NCLB Goals and Indicators

  • Common Core State Standards

  • Natick Public Schools District Mission and Goals

  • The Natick Public Schools’ Benchmarks for Learning

  • The school’s core values and analysis of student learning


2016-2017 Elementary School Improvement Plan

School Council Meetings 2017-2018


Meeting Date & Time

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes

October 30th: 3:05-4:05 PM

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

November 29th:  7:00-8:00am

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

December 14th:  7:00-8:00am

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

January 24th:  7:00-8:00am

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

February 15th:  7:00-8:00am

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

March 14th:  7:00-8:00am

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

April 12th:  7:00-8:00am

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

May 23rd:  7:00-8:00am

Agenda

Meeting Minutes

School Council Members 2017-2018

Anne Carothers

acarothers@natickps.org

Principal

Jessica Brainerd

jbrainerd@natickps.org

Teacher Representative

Grade 1

Sepi Golestani

sgolestani@natickps.org

Teacher Representative

Art (K-4)

Sarah Quimby

squimby@natickps.org

Teacher Representative

Grade 4

Heather Starkel

hstarkel@natickps.org

Teacher Representative

Grade 4

Sheetal Parikh

sparikh@natickps.org

Teacher Representative

Special Education

Kristy Fredericks kzfredericks@yahoo.com

Parent Representative


Eric Hochberg

hochberg.eric@gmail.com

Parent Representative

Tim O’Hara

TOHara@intral.com

Parent Representative

Steven Untersee

sruntersee@gmail.com

Parent Representative

Elise Gorseth egorseth@gmail.com

Parent Representative

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.